Special Guest Speaker

Source of photo: Academia Sinica

Prof. Yuan Tseh Lee

President Emeritus and Distinguished Research Fellow, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Former President of the International Council for Science (ICSU)
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 1986

“Achievement and Challenges of Atmospheric Chemists”

Prof. Yuan T. Lee received his B.S. degree from National Taiwan University and Doctorate from UC Berkeley. He is the first Taiwanese to win a Nobel Prize, which he was awarded jointly with Hungarian-Canadian John C. Polanyi and American Dudley R. Herschbach in Chemistry in 1986 “for their contributions concerning the dynamics of chemical elementary processes”. Prof. Lee’s work was related to the use of advanced chemical kinetics techniques to investigate and manipulate the behavior of chemical reactions using crossed molecular beams. He has also been honored with several other international awards in addition to the Nobel Prize for his invaluable contributions to the field of chemistry.

Prof. Lee holds Honorary Doctorates from 41 universities worldwide, and is an elected member of various academies throughout the world. He is President Emeritus and Distinguished Research Fellow of Academia Sinica in Taiwan and is the former President of the International Council for Science (ICSU) in 2011-2014.

Aside from his scientific interests, he also directed much of his attention to the advancement of international scientific developments and to the promotion of general public affairs. He has served as advisory board member on numerous national and international organizations. He is passionate about global sustainability, and in 2015, he signed the 2015 Mainau Declaration expressing concern about anthropogenic climate change.

It is very exciting that Prof. Lee will give the special guest address at iCACGP-IGAC 2018. As the former ICSU President, Prof. Lee is one of key people who gave birth to Future Earth and he formally declared launching of Future Earth at Rio+20. Many people including myself are inspired by his passion for global sustainability. Conference participants will be fascinated by his deep thoughts and concerns on the environment, human society and our future generations.
Fumiko Kasuga, Global Hub Director – Japan, Future Earth
Prof. Lee is an advocator of solution-oriented science for society. He is a role model of young generation of scientists in Taiwan, and other countries as well, to maximizing the benefits of scientific findings for the sustainable development of our societies. I am sure the participants of the conference will be stimulated by his speech in formulating basic and apply research for the benefits of the science per se and the society.
Shih-Chun Candice Lung, Research Fellow, Research Center for Environmental Changes, Academia Sinica, Taiwan


Conference Sponsors

         RESTEC   CGER   KIMOTO ELECTRIC Co.,Ltd.   Tokyo Dylec Corporation   TOYOFUJI SHIPPING CO.,LTD.   Shoreline Science Research, Inc.   Picarro, Inc.   Diamond Air Service Inc.   Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene   SHIMADZU CORPORATION, Koichi Tanaka Mass Spectrometry Research Laboratory   Japan Meteorological Corporation      World Meteorological Organization   Nippon Thermo Co., Ltd.   Panasonic Corporation Eco Solutions Company   Asia Center for Air Pollution Research(ACAP)   Acid Deposition Monitoring Network in East Asia(EANET)   Droplet Measurement Technologies, Inc.   Markes International Ltd   Fujitsu Limited   Medical Supplements and Services the Leading Company   Takamatsu Preparatory School   MDPI   Japan Environmental Sanitation Center   Sayama Corporation   GEF   MEIWAFOSIS   Taiyo Corporation   ITEC Science Co.,Ltd   SUURI-KEIKAKU Co.,Ltd   Springer   JAPAN AIRLINES Co.,Ltd.  

Early Career Program Sponsors

APN   National Science Foundation   National Aeronautics and Space Administration   National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration   World Meteorological Organization   Global Atmosphere Watch                     IASS   NIES   

Cooperating Societies


Supporting Organizations

Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology-Japan (MEXT)   Ministry of the Environment, Government of Japan   Japan Tourism Agency, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism   Science Council of Japan   NIES                                    Kagawa University